Goodbye, Ants!

Standard

We’ve had a MAJOR ant problem here for a couple months and none of my regular ant tricks were working (cinnamon, vinegar, peppermint oil in water, ant killer (both “eco friendly” and the real stuff). I was getting really frustrated once they found food (namely, B’s super expensive GF snacks!) That’s when they messed with the wrong mama!

Except I wasn’t really sure what to do! I really didn’t want ‘them’ to come spray nasty stuff everywhere BUT I didn’t want to risk losing all our food to some nasty critters.

So, while trying to figure out what to do, I was reading a fantastic book my mother-in-law had gotten for me for Christmas two years ago. ahem. In Mary Hunt’s Everyday Cheapskate book, sheΒ  gives really practical tips for everything under the sun from how to pack for vacation to how to file mail to what do you know – getting rid of ants!

She suggested spraying rubbing alcohol along the trail line – basically, the alcohol would “erase” the ant lines (making it neigh impossible to find the GF yummies food they are after!)

So, I decided to give it a try, figuring the worst was my house would stink for a bit, the best – no more ants. The first sprays happened around 9am Thursday morning. I sprayed again Thursday afternoon. Once again Friday morning…

Saturday afternoon – no. more. ants!!! I can not describe how happy this makes me! πŸ™‚ It’s the little things, right? πŸ™‚

One response »

Leave a Reply

