The little pottier

Standard

I totally meant to give an update on Keaton’s pottying (because I know everyone is waiting on pins & needles!) While it’s “only” been 6 weeks since he REALLY got the hang of things, he took off full steam ahead! And I honestly forget what it was like to have 2 in diapers! Such a short time that is! And while I don’t miss the extra diaper washing, I definitely feel he grew up way too fast in these past 6 weeks!

Immediately he was night trained (something we were expecting to ‘deal with’ for a couple more years, according to almost all our friends!) And just in the past week has taken all but the soap dispensing on by himself – that toddler-independence! One day, I heard, “No, I do it, mama…” and that was it! We’re slowly working on standing and aiming, but for now, he’s got this potty thing down!

Benjamin thinks it is the greatest thing ever. He often says, “Potty mommy” before he poops in his diaper, but, to be perfectly honest, I’m pottied out! Between Keaton and I going every couple of hours..whew πŸ˜‰ We are letting him go if he asks, but not at all forcing it. He’s definitely not ready to be full-on trained, but, definitely close (will it be before baby? We’ll see!) The other day, he pooped and I said, “You’re stinky! We need to change this diaper!” He said, “No, mama, I go potty!” I told him it was too late and he had already pooped, but soon daddy would, help him “learn to go potty.” His response? “Wow!!! NEAT!!” haha! Love it!

So, we’ll see what the next couple of months hold.

Just like with Keaton, we are in no rush to get him out of diapers (it is WAY WAY WAY WAY easier! And, considering we haven’t had a single disposable on him in…about a year?!…we’re just getting our money’s worth out of that precious fluff!) We definitely don’t want him ending up scared of the potty like Keaton was, so we’re trying to make sure he is around it when he’s interested. But, since he has to be RIGHTTHERE whenever Keaton is going, I’m not too worried about that fear taking over πŸ˜‰

OK, enough talk about bowels for now πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

