Just waitin’…

Standard

17 months ago, when I started working on my doula certification, I had no idea that I would be sitting here (well, chasing 3 crazy little ones, cleaning house, wiping noses, changing diapers, doing preschool drop off & pick up, making dinner “sitting here”, haha) waiting for the phone to ring for my 2nd certifying birth. Mom is due in a couple weeks, but I’m officially “on-call”.

I’m beyond honored to be asked to attend this birth….that mom & dad would allow me the privilege to be a part of such a sweet, intimate time.

After this birth, I apply for certification and wait for the papers to come.

And then.

That’s it.

I have no intention of attending any births until the boys are older and it is a bit easier to find someone to care for them.

That saddens me. Birth is addicting. (Yes, giving and witnessing, haha) ๐Ÿ™‚ I remember after the birth I attended in February, I kept thinking, “I could do this everyday!!!” (…and then I slept for about 12 hours) ๐Ÿ˜‰

It’s exhausting. It’s exhilarating. It’s amazing….miraculous…mind-blowing.

…I feel like I’m a new mom. Prepping around the house to make sure everything is in order for while I’m gone. Trying to stay on top of laundry. Making sure meals are prepped.ย  That Zach has all the appropriate info for doctors and school (because if I don’t leave this info, he’ll need it, right?!)

While knowing this is the last birth I’ll attend for awhile saddens me, I’m Ok with it. I’m doing what I’m supposed to be doing right now (remember…the diaper changing, nose wiping, cleaning, cooking, etc…). I’m not at all worried about losing this interest. And, women will still be having babies when my babies get bigger ๐Ÿ™‚

…for now, back to just “sitting here”…

Leave a Reply

